And I Said, “Can you do it again please?”

_DSC3200-2

Now it is my turn to tell the story of how Glen asked me to marry him. It is also the story of how we got together. I decided to document everything on Gastrographic since this is a special space we share. The 8th of November started like any other normal day, just that it ended with me feeling out of this world. Well I knew Glen was up to something since he was being all sneaky the day before, but I did not expect that it was going to be this big a surprise. Glen was on leave that day as we had some errands to run. We went to Atariya in the day, and there was where he passed me my first brown envelope. I was really happy because he hadn’t written to me in awhile and I went ‘Oh hey! you had time to write me a letter!’. Anyway, when I was reading the letter it didn’t really cross my mind why the word “Will” was bolded until I read the second letter.

ONE: The Girl With The Happy Eyes

Atariya_

GirlwiththeHappyeyes

We went to Islington for a stroll after we had our tummies filled with some really awesome sushi. It was outside a home decor shop where Glen handed me my second letter.  He saw me again 3 years later at the Newton Circus bus stop wearing an orange dress. This was after RJC. We went through junior college not really knowing each other since he was one year my senior. I just knew him as Chu’s SLC muscleman canoe captain friend.

TWO: The Orange Dress Incident

_DSC2911_DSC2912It started to rain and Glen insisted that we had to go home. I did not understand why because it was still so early in the day and it was rare that we had an afternoon to spend together! We went home anyway, I went to the toilet to wash up, and when I got back into the room, there was an open luggage and he told me to pack in 5 mins because we had a train to catch at Paddington in an hour. (I’m not sure why he had risked doing so because he always gets annoyed at how long I take to pack and how much I have to pack :p)  I was asking a million questions but he refused to say anything! When we got to Paddington, Glen told me to look at the train schedule board to find out the details of the train which was leaving for Maidenhead. We almost missed our train but thankfully there were some delays and we hopped on just in time. I still did not know where we were going but this was when he passed me my third envelope. We met at the Costume Party Chu organised in 2008, and that was when we spoke to each other for the first time.

THREE: Funny How Things Happen

_DSC3215 Funnyhowthingshappen

When we were on the train, I asked Glen if we were going to The Fat Duck. He told me to stop guessing so I knew I was close, heh! There was a cab already waiting for us at Maidenhead. In 10 mins, we arrived at Bray and checked into The Waterside Inn. The place was absolutely pretty and I was blown away. I didn’t know they had little cottages and rooms on top of the restaurant, and was really surprised when I found out we were staying there for the night!

Glen passed me my fourth envelope. We met again 9 months after the costume party at Denise’s yearly NYE house party. This was when we exchanged numbers and this was the start of our friendship.

FOUR: Funny How Things Happen #2 and Happy New Year 

_DSC2971

happynewyear

Dinner started and the waiters were hilarious! They started congratulating us after serving each dish. I gave Glen a funny look, to which he said “I really don’t know what they’re talking about”. I laughed because I already knew what was going on.

Glen handed me the fifth envelope. He told me he liked me after two months of hanging out and I didn’t know quite what to say, which explains the title of the letter. He was leaving for Beijing for 6 months, and then London after for 3 years. (well, I guess it turned out to be a lot longer)

FIVE: But You’re Leaving Soon 

_DSC3003During his 6 months in Beijing, we kept in touch via MSN Messenger. His msn nickname was (glen.) and I would look forward to speaking to him at the end of each day after school. He sent me a postcard which read “Wo Hen Xiang Ni” (I miss you in Mandarin) and came back to Singapore with a huge bag of Mao related goodies for me.

SIX: Little Bubble

_DSC3038We continued to hang out whenever we could for the few months he had in Singapore before he had to leave for London. We went to Victoria Concert Hall for a concert one weekend and he told me after that he still liked me.

SEVEN: So Tell Me Honestly 

_DSC3044

Towards the end of the meal, I received the eighth envelope. Glen came over to my place one evening and spoke to my mum about us. We went through weeks of praying and consulting Chu to decide if we should give this relationship a shot. It wasn’t easy at all. We are complete opposites, have totally different hobbies, and we were gonna be half the world apart.

EIGHT: Yes, No, Maybe? 

_DSC3053

yesnomaybe

Glen wrote me a green letter and only gave it to me a month after, with only one week left before he had to leave for London. So with some luck, lots of praying, and a leap of faith, we decided to get together. In his words “And the rest, as you might say, is history. At the basement fountain of Raffles City Shopping Centre, I asked her in the clearest terms whether she would be my girlfriend. And in the clearest terms, she said yes.” I did so by agreeing to hold his hand, haha.

NINE: And She Said Yes 

_DSC3060

I was expecting a tenth brown paper envelope but that did not come. Instead, Glen took out a dark purple Ted Baker watch box. I gave him a Ted Baker watch four years ago on our first Valentines Day and that was the box which the watch came in. It is shaped as a book and the tenth letter, together with a little brown box, was inside.

TEN: The Ted Baker Watch Box 

_DSC3227

The last letter made me really emotional. I don’t know how to describe how I felt because I was feeling and thinking so many things at the same time! When I was done reading the letter, Glen was in front of me on one bended knee, and he asked me in the sweetest most serious way ‘Gloria Ong, will you marry me?’. I couldn’t wait to say ‘Yes!’ and I must have said it too soon because I remember my brain telling my heart to slow down because it hasn’t registered the moment and I said “Can you do it again please? It happened too quickly and I really want to remember this forever…”  and there he was again, on one bended knee, and the whole thing did a very slow replay. The rest of it was a blur, I just know I was dizzy with happiness (jetlag, and a very full food tummy).

_DSC3139

So, that’s the story! I hope you enjoyed reading it. A big thank you to our family and friends for sharing this journey with us and most importantly, thank you God for bringing us together and seeing us thus far.

9 comments
  1. Amelia said:

    I want to like this but I don’t have a wordpress account so I can’t haha! I am so happy for you two! and I honestly think it’s a very sweet proposal haha good on you Glen! thanks for sharing gloria 🙂

  2. Andrew Loh said:

    that was one hell of a plan glen had … awesome !!!! congratulations and have a great journey together

  3. Jason Long said:

    Tis post made a hardend emotionless vet like me tear :’) So happy for u both!!!!!! CONGRATS!!!

  4. wolfgang wacker said:

    congraiulations !!! all the best for both ! Wolfgang from germany

  5. Hi Gloria. Congratulations! All the best to you and your fiance 🙂

    This is Nicholas here and I recently got engaged to Minsi too.

    • thank you nicholas! big big congratulations to you and minsi! very happy for you both! -gloria

  6. Amanda Lau said:

    hi gloria! not sure if you would recall me from rgs/rjc days but. congrats! and i love how uglenn proposed (: god bless!

    • hi amanda! of course i remember you 🙂 thank you very much! hope you are well and God bless you too. -gloria

  7. Denise Lwin said:

    Hi you guys, this is so amazing, what a great cute couple you are 🙂 Congratulations and have an awesome life together!

Leave a Reply

